Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

The Financial Side of Adoption

Posted by Vogeler on August 15, 2011

Usually, I take care of most of our family’s finances.  Once every couple of weeks or so, Bethany and I sit down to talk about our budget, where we’re (ok, I said “we” but its mostly “me”) overspending, where we are on our debt payoff, etc.  With the adoption though, things are different.

I’m really proud of her.  She’s really taken control of the adoption process, making sure all of the paperwork gets filed, the checks get mailed where they need to go, and investigating different countries and agencies.  We’re at the point now where it starts to get expensive (an internation adoption can cost over $20,000!!), so she’s applying for interest-free loans and grants.  I’m amazed by how many organizations are out there to help people pay for adoptions.  One that I really like is called the Both Hands Foundation.  Both Hands seeks to match widows who need help with home maintenance and or repairs with parents who need help paying for an adoption.  People come together to help the widow and get sponsors to donate money that is then used for the adoption.  One thing I really like about it is that a widow gets helped in the process.

We haven’t decided if we’re going to explore Both Hands as an option.  But I think it’s a great idea and wanted to get the word out.

2 Responses to “The Financial Side of Adoption”

  1. I am going to have to check this out! I also know that Steven Curtis Chapman has a grant. I can’t remember the name of the organization, but it would be so easy to find, I am sure. 🙂 My friend received a few thousand dollars from his organization a few years back, when they adopted their little girl from China.

  2. Bethany said

    I checked into the Steven Curtis Chapman grant but I noticed that they lean more toward special needs children or children from certain countries. When I read through the requirements for applying for their grant it just seemed way out of our reach and like we would not come close to meeting the requirements. I have found other grants that seem to be more in the area of what we are looking for. Thank you for the suggestion, though!

Leave a Reply

 
