Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Advice

Posted by Vogeler on January 28, 2009

Today, Dear Readers, I am doing something a bit different.  I am having a bit of an issue with an acquaintance, and would like your advice.

This person, while not typically rude to me, is consistently rude to those around me, to the point of being cruel.  This person really, really grates on my nerves, even though he/she has done nothing to me.

Am I being silly by getting angry at a situation that doesn’t even concern me?  Or do you think this does concern me because people are being hurt?

4 Responses to “Advice”

  1. slw said

    He or she has been rude to you by his or her treatment of others in your presence. So you are personally effected, it does concern you.

    I once had a boss like that! I prayed hard for the power to hold my tongue and not make an embarassing scene for everyone involved and not getting fired myself. God worked it out, thankfully.

    If he had been a friend, I would have addressed his rudeness out of love, even if it cost me the friendship.

  2. Bethany Helmkamp said

    I’m sorry. I didn’t realize that I was being this way. 🙂 Just kidding. I think it should be addressed. It will continue and possibly get worse if no one approaches this person.

    Be the stronger man.

  3. @SLW: thanks for the advice. I too have been praying for God to resolve the issue. I wonder if maybe He’s waiting for me to do it. 🙂

    @Bethany: Thanks, “Ben”. You’ve watched “Barnyard” too many times.

  4. Ralph said

    I think part of our instructions to “love one another” and “bear one another’s burdens” includes watching out for each other – in this case, taking care of those around you.

    “Whatever you have done for the least of these, you have done for me.”

    There are times at work that I have to intercede for those I work with; not easy, but necessary.

Leave a Reply

 
