Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Mary, Did You Know?

Posted by Vogeler on November 14, 2008

I am a Christmas fanatic.  I watch Christmas movies all year round.  I get annoyed looks from my wife and coworkers because I listen to Christmas music in July.  I LOVE Christmas.

Now that we’re getting close, I feel that it’s safe (er) for me to break out the Christmas tunes without fear of repercussion.  I was listening to one of my favorites, “Mary Did You Know?” today, when the lyrics of the song hit me so hard my eyes welled up with tears and my knees nearly buckled.

The lines that hit me so hard were,

Did you know that you your baby boy has come to make you new?

This child that you’ve delivered will soon deliver you!

And:

The blind will see, the deaf will hear, the dead will live again!

The lame will leap, the dumb will speak

The praises of the Lamb!

And:

Did you know that your baby boy was Heaven’s perfect Lamb?

The sleeping child you’re holding is the great “I Am”!

If you haven’t taken time to listen to that song in a while (if ever), I greatly encourage you to go someplace quiet and prayerfully listen.  I believe it will help to reinforce the reality of the divinity and humanity of Jesus Christ, and how much of a sacrifice He made to bring us to Himself.



2 Responses to “Mary, Did You Know?”

  1. Kelly said

    I was SO going to give you a hard time about the Christmas post until I saw the song you were talking about. You’re lucky. 🙂 This is one of the few Christmas songs I can actually tolerate. Most of the others make me wish I could go deaf until December 26th.

    My personal favorite line is:
    Did you know that your baby boy has walked where angels trod? And when you kiss your little baby, you’ve kissed the face of God.

  2. @Kelly: HA! 🙂

    I really like that line too. Actually, I really like the entire song!

Leave a Reply

 
