Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Bothersome

Posted by Vogeler on October 30, 2008

I read a lot of blogs by people involved in full-time Christian ministry.  Recently, several of them have posted about the necessity for pastors and their staff members to take time off.  While this is definitely important, especially for those who are too devoted to their jobs (*ahem* Pastor A. *ahem*), all of these posts have started to get on my nerves.

For years, I worked a full-time job, varying between 40 and 50 hours a week.  Then, I spent several hours a week at the church helping with the youth program, being a Boy Scout leader, and a member of several committees.  That adds up really quick.  And I was frequently asked by one person or another to help on other things.

I’m not whining; part of the problem was my reluctance to say “no” and disappoint people.  And I truly wanted to help out as much as I could.  But my point is that while churches are often (and rightfully so) careful not to overload staff members, volunteers usually get overlooked.  And I got burned out fast.   A ten-hour day primarily spent among non-Christians is just as wearing as a day spent in ministry.

So, I guess my message in this post is, Pastors:  be careful not to ask too much of your volunteers.  And volunteers:  learn to know when too much is too much.

Leave a Reply

 
