Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

If You Never Read Anything Else I’ve Ever Posted, Read THIS!!

Posted by Vogeler on November 26, 2007

Another great item from Cerulean Sanctum, this one about the role of the church in times of economic crisis.  Read about it here.

After you’ve read it, let me know what you think.  Do you agree or disagree?  What do you think the church’s role is in times of crisis?

3 Responses to “If You Never Read Anything Else I’ve Ever Posted, Read THIS!!”

  1. DLE said

    Todd,

    Thanks for the link to my post at Cerulean Sanctum on dealing with economic issues within the Church. I pray the post blesses your readers.

  2. nathan said

    It’s absolutely Biblical for the church to take care of their own, as that post was saying.

    Sobering to think about it. I hadn’t seen some of those stats. Certainly is something to be prepared for.
    I’m glad I don’t have an ARM! I followed the wise counsel of my parents–insist on a fixed rate loan.

    The church should be taking care of its members in times of crisis. If this plays out as it may, the church has to be ready for this influx of monetary requests.
    I think we are somewhat prepared at New Hope. We have money set aside and a regular process. Do we have enough money set aside? After reading these stats, probly not…

  3. @Dan: You’re welcome! I know your work has blessed me!

    @Nathan: I know what you mean. I think another question we need to ask ourselves would be, “Am I prepared personally to help my brothers and sisters in Christ, not just shunting them off to my local church?”

Leave a Reply

 
