Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Top Friends on Facebook

Posted by Vogeler on October 3, 2007

I have just been notified that one of my friends on facebook.com has added me to her “Top Friends” list.  The email notification stated, “has added you as a Top Friend on Facebook. Your popularity is going up! Click here to see just how popular you are now :).”

When I got to the site, I was told that my status is “People Like Me.”  I was also told, ” To improve your popularity, invite more friends to make their own Top Friends list!”

Is it just me, or is this kind of sad?  Even friendship is a competition now?

4 Responses to “Top Friends on Facebook”

  1. Mark H said

    It’s not just you!

    It is very sad that people are confusing friendship with popularity. Though there’s often some intersection, the two are really worlds apart.

    How many bloggers are preoccupied with their stats? (Cough – been there!)

    It does reveal a genuine ache of the human soul though doesn’t it? To be accepted, appreciated, and valued. To have depth of meaningful relationship.

    But we’re not going to find it in trying to build the biggest cyber-popularity-list. We’re going to find it in giving ourselves away to others without our own security being prerequisite on the outcome.

    Personally, I can only find that kind of acceptance and emotional security in my Heavenly Father. The kind that means I can give of myself to others with no strings attached.

  2. Good stuff Mark! I myself am guilty. The post before this one was about my stats!

  3. Mark H said

    Me too 🙂

  4. Angela said

    Do you know Mark, your comment about popularity stats on Facebook really hit the nail on the head.

    Kind Regards,
    Angela

Leave a Reply

 
