Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Spillover

Posted by Vogeler on September 5, 2007

An interesting debate is taking place on the blog “Random Thoughts” by Jeremiah Otis. Its about the tithe, and whether it is a Biblical standard for Christians today. You can read about it by clicking here.

My question to you, Dear Readers, is this: Do you tithe, and why or why not?

7 Responses to “Spillover”

  1. nathan said

    Yes I do tithe because i believe the bible is the inspired word of God, and because Jesus, who was God himself, said i ought to tithe.
    You should spank me if I didn’t do what God and God’s word tells me to do.

    It’s also worth mentioning that the post you linked to used to be a debate, but all the good comments (note mine did not) got moved, so it’s not much of a debate any more.

  2. Adam said

    Yes, I do tithe because I want God’s blessings in my life. It is clearly a spiritual principle.

  3. slw said

    Yes, I do. It is the biblical pattern of faithful response to God as provider. Because I believe God is my faithful provider, I want to give what will stretch my faith and express trust in God– not for his sake, he knows all to well what is in my heart and he certainly doesn’t need my money, but for me. I need to know in my own mind that I willingly, truly trust him as my provider. The word instructs me that tithing is the way to do that.

  4. Mark H said

    I tithe for all the reasons stated above by others.

    However, I’d like to add that perhaps we set the bar too low? The early church, or at least a good proportion of them for it to have been noted in the book of Acts, inspired by Jesus’ teaching and reckless in their love for Him, gave EVERYTHING they had to the CHURCH to DISTRIBUTE to WHOEVER had need.

    It was an atheist friend who first asked me how come Christians are only asked to give 10% when the early New Testament church example is much bigger. He also asked WHAT the church does with the 10% – which could be an even more embarrassing question in some instances. I of course told him that we give an offering as well as a tithe and that we give to causes other than via our local church, sometimes charities, sometimes individuals, wherever we see need.

    I felt a bit better for the purposes of the conversation, but I just couldn’t escape the revelation/conviction that if Jesus is my Lord then EVERYTHING I have is His and it should ALL be used for the work of His Kingdom.

    I’m not suggesting that we should give all our cash to our local church! I’ve certainly heard of cringe-worthy movements that impose a kind of legalism on people in this regard that is extremely unhealthy.

    But I am floating the thought that we can buy into a mindset that 10% is the Lords and the rest is mine (and that 10% is a kind of insurance policy for our own blessing). Using the Old Testament, it might well be possible to defend such a position. But now that we are under grace, what is our response to that grace? Is it ALL His to be used as He directs?

  5. slw said

    Mark,
    I like what you said. The pattern of the OT, from which so much ot tithing teaching comes from, required a whole lot more than a 90/10 split: there were alms, guilt and sin offerings, thank and fellowship offerings, etc. Yet, often we are taught to give God what’s his (the tithe), Caesar what’s his (all wasted!), and the rest is ours to buy a big boat and go on a fishing trip.

  6. Mark H said

    I stumbled upon this too:

    http://anabaptist.lifewithchrist.org/page/revolutionary-generosity.html

  7. Very good stuff, gentlemen. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
