Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

The Importance of Christian Education

Posted by Vogeler on September 1, 2007

As many of you know, I started my final semester for my bachelor’s degree at the end of August. I attend a secular, state-sponsored university. This leads to problems.

In my courses of study (History, Religion, Philosophy, Psychology, Anthropology, etc.) I am constantly bombarded by secular views of science, history, humanity, biology, etc., even by professed Christians.

I have great respect for many of my instructors, compounding the difficulty.

All of this strikes a severe blow at the root of my faith, even to the point of beginning to undermine it.

Thank God for the dedicated men and women who publish materials dedicated to a sincere, factual, reasonable, scientific defense of God’s Holy Word! The material offered by these people (which is readily available on the web) helps to both increase and shore up my faith.

My three personal favorites are:

Answers In Genesis

The Institute For Creation Research

Creationism.org

Ensuring that our children are properly educated about the facts of our world and how they line up with God’s Word is vital. Begin to undermine their faith in the scientific and historical accuracy of God’s Word, and they will soon begin to doubt its authority in their lives.

Please, become familiar with these sites. Direct your children, friends, and congregations to them. Spend time with them. Discuss what they have learned. If you are able, financially support them.

Most of us grew up with a skewed idea of how the world works. Our children are still receiving that same skewed message. Its up to us to ensure that they know the Truth.

And parents, don’t expect your local church to do it.  That’s your job.

2 Responses to “The Importance of Christian Education”

  1. DLE said

    Todd,

    Have you read Total Truth by nancy Pearcey? A very good book on worldview and the threats from within in our churches.

  2. No, I haven’t. I’ll put that on my list! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
