Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

That’s Final

Posted by Vogeler on August 22, 2007

I will never, repeat NEVER accept any spiritual authority from a person who is living in open sin and blatant disobedience to God’s Word.  If that makes me a “rebel” then so be it.

Winking at sin is why the church is in the state it is today. Not to be legalistic, but there is such a thing as Right. There is such a thing as Wrong. People make mistakes, true. I make them all the time. But when a spiritual leader continues in sin, WILLFULLY, PUBLICLY and UNREPENTINGLY, they have nothing to say to me. God will judge.

That’s final.

P.S. Anyone who supports a leader such as I have described, whether explicitly or implicitly, is every bit as guilty as the offender.

10 Responses to “That’s Final”

  1. Josh said

    That’s a big can a worms…..

    Josh!

  2. I was a bit piqued when I wrote this post, but I stand by it.

  3. slw said

    Todd,
    If I may ask, what’s got you so ticked off? I don’t necessarily disagree with your point, I’m just kinda wondering what sin you may be speaking of.

  4. My point may not necessarily be correct. I was quite upset when I wrote this, and I’m still looking into Biblical examples of authority.

    Here’s the laundry list:

    Marital infidelity

    Abuse of spiritual authority for personal gain

    Inability to manage his own family and finances (maybe not sins, but still a pretty big issue).

    I can’t go into any more detail, but my goodness, that’s enough for me!

    I am willing to accept Biblical instruction and correction on this matter if I am incorrect.

    I also know this man needs my prayers, not my anger, but he should know that he needs to step down.

  5. slw said

    That’s quite a list, and all of them the same perpetrator! If a leader is walking in all that without repentance, he needs to be confronted publicly and commanded to repent (1 Timothy 5:19-21). If he won’t repent, Matthew 18 and I Corinthians 5 come into play. When the unrepentant leader is ultimately excommunicated then his spiritual authority would cease as well.

  6. slw said

    I should add, if he repents, then I believe it’s possible for him to continue in his ministry and authority, although things may have to be put in place to rehabilitate public confidence (see Galatians 6:1-40).

  7. I absolutely believe that if he repents, he should be restored (with some initial safeguards). Look at Peter! He denied Christ, and went on to be a great leader.

    But, repentance has to come first, and it is my opinion that the man in question believes that the “rules” don’t apply to him.

    And those around him who should be holding him accountable are not doing so. Therein lies their guilt.

  8. slw said

    You’re absolutely correct Todd. At some point this all begins to be cult-like, where a person other than Jesus is being followed. If correction can be made through the instrumentality of the church, it’s time to get out of there. Have you raised your voice to the minister and the accountable leaders?

  9. slw said

    Typo
    That should read:
    If correction cannot be made…

  10. Unfortunately, this is a situation I am aware of, not involved in. The correct people are aware of it, just not doing anything about it. Cowards.

Leave a Reply

 
