Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

My legs hurt.

Posted by Vogeler on August 16, 2007

Last night, I ran for the first time in quite a while (years, maybe).

IT WAS GREAT!

See, I checked out runnersworld.com for tips for beginners, and they had several articles recommending a run/walk combo.  Run for 1 minute, walk for two minutes, wash, rinse, repeat.

Keep it up for thirty minutes.

When I was done, I was tired, not exhausted.  I felt great.  I was covered in sweat, so I know I got a good workout (not to mention my legs are on fire today!!).  The dog went with me, and she was about dead afterward.  Poor fat, out-of-shape Lucy.  🙂

If you are out of shape, or just want to start running, I highly recommend giving this a try.  A couple of things to remember:

  1. Check with your doctor first
  2. walk for 20 minutes for four days, then 30 minutes for the next four days before running
  3. give yourself time to rest on off days!
  4.  check out the whole article:  http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,ssss6-380-381–678-5-1X2X4X5X6-6,00.html
  5. Don’t sue me if you were dumb and injured yourself.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

 
