Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

My New Business

Posted by Vogeler on July 14, 2007

My boss (and very close friend) Brett and I have decided to start our own computer repair and consulting business.  We have over 20 combined years of computer repair experience, and are committed to our three core values:  Integrity, Service, and Value.

We had our first job yesterday.

The customer’s computer wouldn’t turn on all the time, and would randomly shut off.  The front power indicator light was also flashing.  We thought “power supply!” and we were right.  After replacing the power supply, it worked just fine.

We then proceeded to do a PC “tune-up”, which included:

Spyware/Adware/Antivirus removal

Antivirus program installation per customer request

System Defragmentation

System Startup Clean to improve Windows boot time

Disk Cleanup

Registry Cleanup

Windows Update

The total charge for everything we did if performed by a major chain (I can’t say who on this blog because of legal reasons, but if you wanna know email me) was over $180, and that didn’t include the cost of the new power supply.

We charged $60.   Parts included.

We took a snapshot of the interior components and serial numbers of all hardware before we began work and made them available to the customer, then did the same after we were finished.  We also returned the defective power supply to the customer.

They are very happy.

So, if you know of anyone who is having computer problems, don’t let them take it to a big store or repair shop.  Our work is guaranteed, and we are both in the process of becoming Microsoft Certified Technicians.

Our rates are very reasonable, and are the same whether or not you bring the PC to us or we make a housecall.  Other repair shops charge heavily for housecalls (however, we do have a charge of $10 for any housecall farther than 15 miles from Hudson, IN.  This is just to pay for gas).

Hopefully I have demonstrated that we are committed to taking care of our customers, and charging reasonable prices.

We appreciate any business!

4 Responses to “My New Business”

  1. slw said

    I hope you do astoundingly well. God bless you in the new effort.

  2. Thanks fellas! I appreciate it!

  3. Steve said

    Mr. Todd!!!
    Glad to hear things are going well for you. If you recall, I had the same type of business and had it for quite a few years. I hope and pray things go well for you. Give me a call and I can probably give you a few inside tips that I learned from bigger companies as well as experience from my own company.
    May God be with you always,
    Steve

  4. Hey, Steve,

    Good to hear from you! I’ll email you! Thanks for the advice.

Leave a Reply

 
