Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

A Correction

Posted by Vogeler on June 26, 2007

As many of you know, I am against the attempt to legislate morality.  Morality is something that comes from the inside, and I believe that I as a follower of Jesus Christ am obligated to share His Word with a world in need.  This is what may change society, not a bunch of laws.

Because I feel this way, I had two quotes as part of my e-mail signature.  One of them was by a man named Roger Williams, in 1635.  The other, the phrase, “You can’t legislate morality”, was mine.  Or so I thought.

It has come to my attention that this phrase was first made prominent by Barry Goldwater in  1964 and has since been frequently used by other politicians.

I apologize for this lapse, and any misunderstandings that may have resulted from it.

4 Responses to “A Correction”

  1. nathan said

    “it happens.”
    -Forrest Gump, in Forrest Gump

    i knew i had heard the phrase before, but didn’t know it was actually attributed to someone. interesting.

  2. slw said

    If you would have just kept quiet, and claimed it as your own invention, you would have taken a huge step toward a career in politics!

  3. slw said

    You’ve been tagged!

  4. Maria said

    You say that “you can’t legislate morality” – I think that you need to define your terms. If you mean “make laws” when you say “legislate,” consider: every law is someone’s morality! Someone must have thought slavery was immoral to make a law against it. Someone must have thought it was morally right for women to be allowed to vote… and so on.

    If however, when you say “legislate” you mean “force people,” then I would agree with you. We can’t force people to behave in a moral way. But that doesn’t mean that we don’t pass laws! I can’t force people not to steal, but I still like laws that encourage people not to steal.

    Be careful with your terms, because you sound like you don’t think that there is an absolute right and wrong that should be encouraged in an orderly society.

Leave a Reply

 
