Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Passing Through

Posted by Vogeler on February 23, 2007

Yesterday, while walking to  the parking garage after class, I had a moment of enlightenment.

Coming toward me was a man.  He had dark skin, cheerful eyes, and  snowy white hair and a well-trimmed beard.  He looked to be about 50 years old, maybe of Indian descent.  I had never seen him before.

As we passed each other, the wind picked up and swirled around us.  He looked at me, and with an expression of open, sincere joy and friendliness said, “Cold today!”  I couldn’t help but smile back at him.

I will probably never see this man again.  He didn’t know me; I didn’t know him.  But in that moment, we somehow connected.  I don’t know if he was a brother in Christ.  But he was my neighbor (Luke 10:25-37).

We shared something in those few seconds: we shared the experience of being human.  And that was enough.

Leave a Reply

 
