Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

The Love a Father, Part II

Posted by Vogeler on January 29, 2007

When I got home from work Saturday afternoon, Luke was watching Veggie Tales.  I gave him a hug, and he just looked at me.  No response.

I talked about it a bit with my wife, and then took a nap (I was feeling very poorly, which is why we went to church Sunday morning instead).  When I woke up from my nap, he came running to me and gave me a huge hug.  Everything has been normal since.  In fact, he’s more affectionate now than he ever was.

I did a bit of research on this.  A son withdrawing from his father is known to happen, but it’s very rare.

My wife and I think it was a matter of God wanting to get His message through to me.

What do you think?

4 Responses to “The Love a Father, Part II”

  1. Jen said

    Wow Todd! I read Part I, and then Part II. I wouldn’t have thought about God in the equation at all. I think you could be right about Him trying to get His message across through you. It made me think of my life lately and if He had any messages for me. I’m glad Luke is back to being affectionate again though!

  2. @Jen: Glad I could be of service. 🙂 Thanks for the congratulations! And I think that when we finally meet God face-to-face, we’ll be surprised at how often we missed the times He was speaking to us.

  3. Abby! said

    Todd? You have a blog??? 😉

  4. nathan said

    i figured it would happen.

    i can just see me sitting there, and God loving on me, and me being like, ‘what? why are you doing this?’ and just sitting there, doing nothing.
    then, after i come to my senses, i finally come back to God and give him the love he so greatly deserves!

    God is awesome. he is always showing us little lessons in our everyday life. God is faithful, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
