Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Is It Enough?

Posted by Vogeler on January 9, 2007

Is it enough that I go to church on Sunday?

Is it enough that I sometimes go on Wednesday night?

Is it enough that I teach a class on Sunday to a group of high schoolers who grew up in the

church and don’t really care?

Is it enough that I sometimes teach on Wednesday nights to a group of middle schoolers

who are there because it’s free babysitting for their parents?

Is it enough that I faithfully drop my 10% in the basket every week?

Is it enough that I do my best to obey God’s laws?

Is it enough that I study God’s Word?

When have I fed the hungry? When have I clothed the naked? When have I given water

to those who thirst? When have I visited the lonely, or cared for the sick?

“So Jesus had compassion and touched their eyes. And immediately their eyes received sight, and they followed Him.” Matthew 20:34

“And when Jesus went out He saw a great multitude; and He was moved with compassion for them, and healed their sick.” Matthew 14:14

“And Jesus, when He came out, saw a great multitude and was moved with compassion for them, because they were like sheep not having a shepherd. So He began to teach them many things.” Mark 6:34

“Now Jesus called His disciples to Himself and said, ‘I have compassion on the multitude, because they have now continued with Me three days and have nothing to eat. And I do not want to send them away hungry, lest they faint on the way.’” Matthew 15:32

“‘Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’ “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’”

Is it enough?

One Response to “Is It Enough?”

  1. Grandpa said

    You wonder what is enough, I was one of those kids in church all my life, but our pastor in the late 1940’s preached his heart out to us guys and we didn’t response but a evanglist came along and touched our heart after the seed was sowen. So we don’t know what is enough. We may just be the waterers and some one else gets the glory but we can share in it. We have spent most of our life encouraging the old people and don’t see much who have responsed but try to keep them going until the end

Leave a Reply

 
