Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

The Case For Christ…and Robin Hood?

Posted by Vogeler on January 2, 2007

So, our small group is starting tonight. We’re going to be reading through The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel. Lee is a former journalist for the Chicago Tribune. He became a Christian while on a quest to prove to his Christian wife that her faith was wrong. The book is the story of his journey.

I love this book. I encourage everyone to get a copy. Also, if you are a young couple under 30 and are interested in this study, you can contact our group leader, Nathan Diehl, at nathan@newhope.in

Now, the Robin Hood thing.

Stephen R. Lawhead is one of my favorite fiction writers. He has re-written many of the legends surrounding King Arthur, using a lot of real historical evidence (unlike the recent movie with Clive Owen, which, while entertaining, is SO inaccurate). I would highly recommend his works, as he skillfully, and subtly, interweaves his Christian faith into his books. His latest, Hood puts a much different spin on the Robin Hood legends, using some very early source material that indicates a Welsh origin for the legend. Good stuff!!

What’s your favorite book? If it really is the Bible, great! But I’d like to know what book besides the Bible is your favorite.

Oh, yeah, Happy 2007. Good luck remembering to write 2007 instead of 2006.

9 Responses to “The Case For Christ…and Robin Hood?”

  1. nathan said

    Honestly, i think my favorite book is always ‘The one I’m reading right now.’
    So, at the moment, i have two favorite books:
    In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson
    and
    Pour Your Heart into It by Howard Schultz

  2. joe said

    It’s called Checkuary…the time between December and Januaey when you acclimate to writing the correct year 😀

    I would have to say that my favorite book is I Am Not But I Know I AM, by Louie Giglio. It’s short and easy to read, but it will ratify your thinking about your identity! It’s a powerful little book!

  3. Michael J. said

    Simply put… I don’t have a favorite book. I always really like what I’m reading… or I won’t read it (unless I’m doing some sort of research or something like that.) I really like “The Sword of Truth” fantasy series by Terry Goodkind and pretty much anything by Lewis. I also like… drumroll please… Tax Law! I wish I was joking about this… but for some reason I get a great deal of kicks reading taxes. I’m a nerd… shoot me please…

  4. Celtic Rain said

    First I would like to say Todd your evil, starting to tell the background of a book and just leaving off in the middle of it. Now I have to see if I can find it. My favoite book is A Lady’s Deception, Yes I know how girly… whatever. I love to Read so it is not the only one I have read about a thousand times.
    P.s. Todd can I have my book back soon I would like to finish it before the 7th book of Harry Potter is released.

  5. Todd said

    @Celtic Rain: Sure, as soon as you tell me who you are. I think you’re Sunshine, but I’m not sure. 🙂

  6. Beth said

    I like reading about the Holocaust. Some think it’s weird, sorry if you do. It’s just about the only topic in history that I really get in to. Kym got me a book about the Holocaust for Christmas. I loved it.
    The book I’m reading right now is called “Saint”. It’s really good. It has short chapters which is nice since I usually fall asleep while reading. If the chapters aren’t long, I don’t have to fall asleep in the middle of one.

  7. wondering if anyone has interest in following along with my comments and reading of The Case For Christ? could use Christian commentary and honest Christian evaluation.

  8. Welcome atheistreader!

    As long as you are truly interested in honest dialogue, I would be happy to help however I can. Just let me know!

  9. so I have 2 posts up.. what I really need is constructive criticism. I am getting the feeling that the book is not written for skeptics but rather for believers… but I think I’m being fair given Lee’s original challenge. Regardless, I’m learning from the book, which is always good.

Leave a Reply

 
