Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

Cogito, Ergo Sum.

Posted by Vogeler on December 6, 2006

Does anyone else desire Truth? Real, solid, unadulterated Truth? Not candy-coated. Not hidden behind a smiling mask, not “politically correct”? Does anyone else desire to share heart and soul, in true open freedom?

Why do we hide?

3 Responses to “Cogito, Ergo Sum.”

  1. Adam said

    Nice.

    I think we hide sometimes because other people don’t want to hear the Truth, or maybe we think they don’t. I’d get in trouble if I was COMPLETELY true with everyone all day long. I’d say things like, “You’re a JERK!” or “I wish you’d flush your head in a toilet.” okay so that’s extreme . . . but that make my point. We try to tell people what we think they want to hear.

    Another part of this is that we don’t want people to misunderstand what we actually mean by saying the right thing wrongly. So we candy coat it to make sure.

  2. Michael J. said

    I want the truth. Yet, it is as Adam said… it is often cand-coated because truth is almost always subjegated to human emotions, perspective, experience. If I were to tell someone the truth, but all their feelings and past experience gives them a personal vantage-point of this so-called “truth,” it is as if the truth has become false. A nickel is no longer a nickel because someone feels that it is something different. Bah!

    “You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:32)

  3. joe said

    Well…I have a tendency to speak my mind, with little concern for political correctness or others’ feelings.

    If I was without sin, this wouldn’t be a problem…but sometimes, ok usually, my intentions are wrong or impure, my attitude is wrong. Sometimes I just don’t have all the information, so I make an incorrect judgment.

    Without meaning to, I hurt feelings. I justify, in my own mind, that they just need to be stronger people, but, guess what, I get my feelings hurt by the inconsiderate actions and words of others. So, I guess that makes me a hypocrite. I’m working on it.

    But, yes, I do desire unadulterated truth and unfettered communication. I wish that everyone around me would just be honest, even if they think it would hurt my feelings. It would help me keep from making situations and problems worse, because it would provide truth in place of my assumptions. Wow, I guess the truth really will set you free!

Leave a Reply

 
