Pensées

Thoughts on the Meaning of Life…..by Todd Helmkamp

What’s In A Name?

Posted by Vogeler on November 27, 2006

I discovered something about myself today.  The Hebrew words and pronunciations of God’s titles and names mean much more to me than English or Greek.  Adonai for instance.  When I am deep in prayer, whether anguished or just overcome with His glory, calling him Lord just doesn’t seem to cut it.  That’s when, almost unbidden, Adonai or El Shaddai escape my lips.

Does anyone else share this?  What are your favorite names for God?  (In whatever language.)

I look forward to replies!!

3 Responses to “What’s In A Name?”

  1. Michael J. said

    Yes! I’m not the only one! I have a really persistant habit of calling God “Elohim” which mean s “God” or literally translated from the Hewbrew, means “Strength” I have a Jewish heritage, so I have a tendencay to also cry out “El Yisrael” which means “God of Israel” But I only do it when I’m doing personal time with God because I feel like it would confuse people in a public prayer setting.

  2. Carma said

    Gee, after reading the post and Michael’s comment, my thought seems rather silly. I tend to address him as “The Big Guy Upstairs.” I like to think of God as somone I can come to easily. In my mind it gives him a more human quailty and allows me to address him easier in prayer. It may seem silly to some people, but for me, it works.

  3. Adam said

    *chuckles to himself*

    For me, the only time I call God anything unusual is when I’m not hearing Him. Then, I usually call God, “Hey!” Like I’m going to get His attention or something. Sometimes it works. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

 
